Saturday, February 10, 2018

From Information Literate to Information Fluent: The Role of Libraries in Preparing 21st Century Citizens

A free webinar on 21 February 2018 at 11am US Pacific time (which is 7pm UK time, 2pm US Eastern time) From Information Literate to Information Fluent: The Role of Libraries. "Librarians are increasingly important in helping students, pre-K through 20 and beyond [i.e. from pre-school to university-level and beyond], to move beyond the skills of Information Literacy and become Information Fluent in order to successfully navigate the Knowledge Economy. In this session, Dr. Alan Bearman will discuss how, with the help of a Lyrasis Catalyst Grant, the Washburn University librarians are collaborating with other regional librarians to develop a culture of Information Fluency in their service region." Bearman is is Professor in the History of Christianity and Early American History at Washburn University where he is also the founding Dean of the combined University Libraries and the Center for Student Success and Retention. The webinar wil be recorded for later viewing. To register, go to
Photo by Sheila Webber: practically invisible bluetits foraging for seeds in plane trees today.

No comments: